SESSION 1 MSPS NOT STANDING OR NOT RETURNED IN THE 2003 ELECTION

A number of MSPs did not return to the Scottish Parliament in Session 2. They either did not stand for re-election or they stood as a candidate but were not re-elected.

This fact sheets is divided into two sections. The first section lists those MSPs who stood for re-election but failed to win a seat. The second section lists those MSPs who were serving at the end of the first parliamentary session (31 March 2003) but chose not to stand for re-election.

Abbreviations used:

Con Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Ind Independent
Lab Scottish Labour

LD Scottish Liberal Democrats SNP Scottish National Party

Scottish Parliament Fact sheet

MSPs: Historical Series

25 October 2005



MSPs that stood for re-election but failed to win a seat

Brian Fitzpatrick	Lab	Strathkelvin & Bearsden
Kenny Gibson	SNP	Glasgow
Rhoda Grant	Lab	Highlands & Islands
Iain Gray	Lab	Edinburgh Pentlands
Keith Harding	Con	Mid Scotland & Fife
John McAllion	Lab	Dundee East
Irene McGugan	SNP	North East Scotland
Lyndsay McIntosh	Con	Central Scotland
Angus Mackay	Lab	Edinburgh South
Fiona McLeod	SNP	West of Scotland
Gil Paterson	SNP	Central Scotland
Lloyd Quinan	SNP	West of Scotland
Michael Russell	SNP	South of Scotland
Dr Richard Simpson	Lab	Ochil
Elaine Thomson	Lab	Aberdeen North
Andrew Wilson	SNP	Central Scotland

MSPs that did not stand for re-election

Name	Party	Constituency or Region
Colin Campbell	SNP	West of Scotland
Dorothy-Grace Elder	Ind	Glasgow
Dr Winnie Ewing	SNP	Highlands & Islands
Duncan Hamilton	SNP	Highlands & Islands
lan Jenkins	LD	Tweeddale, Ettrick & Lauderdale
Rt Hon Henry McLeish	Lab	Central Fife
Rt Hon Sir David Steel KBE	LD	Lothians
Kay Ullrich	SNP	West of Scotland
Ben Wallace	Con	North East Scotland
John Young OBE	Con	West of Scotland

Contacting the Public Information Service

For more information you can visit our website at http://www.scottish.parliament.uk or contact the Public Information Service.

Address Public Information Service

The Scottish Parliament

Edinburgh EH99 1SP

① Telephone 0131 348 5000

Textphone users can contact us on 0131 558 7676. We also welcome

calls using the RNID Typetalk service.

Fax 0131 348 5601

@ Email sp.info@scottish.parliament.uk